Wednesday, June 21, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday (#48)


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill @ Breaking The Spine
in which we have the opportunity to spotlight upcoming releases we're eagerly anticipating.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This week's pick: WICKED LIKE A WILDFIRE by Lana Popović
Expected publication: August 15th, 2017 by Katherine Tegen Books

Fans of Holly Black and Leigh Bardugo will be bewitched by Lana Popovic's debut YA fantasy novel about a bargain that binds the fates—and hearts—of twin sisters to a force larger than life.

All the women in Iris and Malina’s family have the unique magical ability or “gleam” to manipulate beauty. Iris sees flowers as fractals and turns her kaleidoscope visions into glasswork, while Malina interprets moods as music. But their mother has strict rules to keep their gifts a secret, even in their secluded sea-side town. Iris and Malina are not allowed to share their magic with anyone, and above all, they are forbidden from falling in love. 

But when their mother is mysteriously attacked, the sisters will have to unearth the truth behind the quiet lives their mother has built for them. They will discover a wicked curse that haunts their family line—but will they find that the very magic that bonds them together is destined to tear them apart forever?

The first in a two-book series. Readers will be rapt with anticipation for the sequel.

What do you think? And what are you waiting for?
Leave a comment with a link to your WoW so I can stop by and get excited, too! ;)

Friday, June 16, 2017

"Behind the Curtain" by Beth Kery



BEHIND THE CURTAIN BY BETH KERY

SERIES: Stand-alone
PUBLISHER: Headline Eternal
GENRE: Contemporary Romance
SOURCE: Publisher

SUMMARY
When journalist Asher Gaites visits a downtown jazz club in Chicago, he's transfixed by the lyrical voice and sensuous body of a woman who performs behind a thin, shimmering veil... Inexplicably drawn to her, Asher is shocked to recognize the woman who walked away from him nine years ago... The veil gives Moroccan American Laila Barek the anonymity she needs since she cannot reconcile her family's values with her passion for music. But she has never been able to forget the touch, the feel, the taste of Asher. And despite the doubt and fear that wind their way into their lives, they must trust the heat of their desire to burn down the walls the world has placed between them...

MY REVIEW

I only read one book from this author before, but I knew I had to try more of her works, and I was sure this was going to be the perfect title to help with my 'Kery education'. Boy, was I 100% right!

From the moment I read the blurb, I was captivated. Then, when I started reading, I found myself completely absorbed into the story and felt so much for the characters. The real surprise was discovering this book is not just adult, but also partly new adult, and don't you just love that? I surely do! The mystery halo you get from the very first pages makes you beg for a window through the past, and when that window is open, you can't help but being fascinated by what's behind it... Forbidden encounters which aren't just hot and sensual—oh my, Beth Kery deserves a round of applause for the way she has beautifully written Every.Single.Steamy.Scene.—but also touching, mainly because of the huge obstacle to Asher and Laila's relationship: their different culture. It breaks your heart seeing that this still plays a big role in our modern society, but it's sadly true, and it's too bad family values stop someone from reaching happiness and also show the world their real potential.

I loved this book, it was more than I honestly expected. Emotional and strong at the same time, full of hope and dreams everyone has a right to follow and fight for.

RATING: 4.5/5

Monday, June 12, 2017

"Deadmen Walking" by Sherrilyn Kenyon



DEADMEN MALKING BY SHERRILYN KENYON

SERIES: Deadmen's Cross Trilogy #1
PUBLISHER: Piatkus
GENRE: Fantasy Romance
SOURCE: Publisher

SUMMARY
To catch evil, it takes evil. Enter Devyl Bane—an ancient dark warlord returned to the human realm as one of the most notorious pirates in the New World. A man of many secrets, Bane makes a pact with Thorn—an immortal charged with securing the worst creations the ancients gods ever released into our world. Those powers have been imprisoned for eons behind enchanted gates... gates that are beginning to buckle. At Thorn's behest, Bane takes command of a crew of Deadmen: humanity's last hope at restore the gates. But things are never so simple. And one of Bane's biggest problems is the ship they sail upon. For the Sea Witch isn't just a vessel, she's also a woman born of an ancient people he wronged—a woman who is also sister to their primary target. Now Marcelina, the Sea Witch, must choose. Either she remains loyal to her evil sister and watches humanity fall, or she puts her faith in an enemy who has already betrayed her. Her people over the totality of humanity? Let's hope Bane can sway her favour...

MY REVIEW

When asked if I was interested in reviewing this title, it only took the words 'fantasy' and 'pirates' in the same sentence for the UK publisher to woo me. Come on, can you blame me? Yo Ho, Yo Ho, a pirate's read for me...

What an adventure! This story has it all, pirates, magical creatures, curses, vile villains, myths, epic battles, and hope for redemption. This last part is easier said than done, though. In order to earn a precious gift such as a second chance at life, a crew of Deadmen tries their hardest to save humanity from evil threats, while in the process of fighting their own demons. Something the Captain of the ship—a former dark warlord who used to be perhaps the most dangerous one you could ever encounter—knows way too well. His past doesn't give him a rest and it certainly doesn't make it see a chance to redeem himself, but for all his faults and damnation, he is far way better than one would care to admit. Can the only one who matters (to him) get past everything, and see what so far she depicted as despicable?

I loved every page, I was entranced by the characters and every twist and turn, and now I feel like I'm part of the crew. Lovers of fantasy, grab this book and ask Captain Bane for permission to come aboard!

RATING: 4/5
--------------------------------------------------

This review was part of the Official UK Blog Tour organized by Piatkus.


Wednesday, June 07, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday (#47)


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill @ Breaking The Spine
in which we have the opportunity to spotlight upcoming releases we're eagerly anticipating.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This week's pick: DAUGHTER OF THE BURNING CITY
by Amanda Foody
Expected publication: July 25th, 2017 by Harlequin Teen

A darkly irresistible new fantasy set in unnamed-2the infamous Gomorrah Festival, a traveling carnival of debauchery that caters to the strangest of dreams and desires.

Sixteen-year-old Sorina has spent most of her life within the smoldering borders of the Gomorrah Festival. Yet even among the many unusual members of the traveling circus-city, Sorina stands apart as the only illusion-worker born in hundreds of years. This rare talent allows her to create illusions that others can see, feel and touch, with personalities all their own. Her creations are her family, and together they make up the cast of the Festival’s Freak Show.

But no matter how lifelike they may seem, her illusions are still just that—illusions, and not truly real. Or so she always believed…until one of them is murdered.

Desperate to protect her family, Sorina must track down the culprit and determine how they killed a person who doesn’t actually exist. Her search for answers leads her to the self-proclaimed gossip-worker Luca, and their investigation sends them through a haze of political turmoil and forbidden romance, and into the most sinister corners of the Festival. But as the killer continues murdering Sorina’s illusions one by one, she must unravel the horrifying truth before all of her loved ones disappear.

What do you think? And what are you waiting for?
Leave a comment with a link to your WoW so I can stop by and get excited, too! ;)

Friday, June 02, 2017

"Best Kind of Broken" by Chelsea Fine



BEST KIND OF BROKEN BY CHELSEA FINE

SERIES: Finding Fate #1
PUBLISHER: Piatkus
GENRE: NA Contemporary Romance
SOURCE: Publisher

SUMMARY
Pixie and Levi haven't spoken in nearly a year when they find themselves working—and living—at the same hotel in the middle of nowhere. Once upon a time, they were childhood friends. But that was before everything went to hell. And now things are... painful. All they want to do is avoid each other, and their past, for as long as possible. But now that they're forced to share a bathroom, and therefore a shower, keeping their distance from one another becomes less difficult than keeping their hands off each other. Because despite everything that happened before, this isn't the kind of chemistry that's easy to resist. Welcome to the hallway of awkward tension and sexual frustration, folks.

MY REVIEW

I've always been curious about this series, partly because it's praised well from more than a blogger I follow, and partly because new adult books get me on an emotional level I particularly love. So I should have really known better and try this a long time ago... Anyway, you know what they say, better late than never!

Chelsea Fine has a beautiful writing style that draws readers in and makes them turn every page with the same intensity that hit them at the very beginning. The palpable electricity between the main characters and the sexual tension building work just great. You find yourself wanting the desire to win over while also hoping they won't give into temptation too soon. Indeed, the tension is SO good that the reader joins Pixie and Levi's frustration, and love every moment of it. What happened to the two of them and why they (try to) keep a certain distance is sad and touching, something that proves fate can be a real b*tch. And with both point of views at your disposal, you feel for the both of them and get their reactions to the tragedy stroked.

With a heart-warming story, broken characters, and an Inn that feels like home, this is an emotional, tempting, and entertaining book. Some might say the best kind of read.

RATING: 4/5

Monday, May 29, 2017

FairyLoot May Unboxing: Warriors & Legends


Time to see if we can make legend with a brilliant FairyLoot unboxing!

Remember when I said in my April unboxing that it was potentially my fave box so far? Yeah, then this one was delivered . . . I really shouldn't be surprised at this point, but they keep amazing me and, to be honest, I think it's a pretty good thing. And they surely know how to pick a subscriber's interest only by using a few words, such as this month's theme: WARRIORS & LEGENDS.

Go on, scroll down and look at a truly legen—wait for it—dary box . . .

back to top